Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Tony Williams - 1970 [2007] "Turn It Over" (Redux)

Turn It Over (Bill Laswell Remix) [no label, 1CD]

Unreleased tracks.
Thanks to tiburon for sharing the tracks on the internet.
tiburon noted:
In 1999, Bill Laswell decided to re-imagine this seminal jazz fusion album. However, Verve Records refused to release the album once it was completed, claiming it would never sell. However, it was released on CD-R directly to a small music shop in New York City frequented by Bill Laswell himself, the Downtown Music Gallery.
A rare, unreleased version of The Tony Williams Lifetime album, Turn It Over. Expanded, remixed, and remastered by Bill Laswell from the original Polydor master tapes. This unabridged version of the complete album includes four unreleased cuts, and five longer unedited versions from album sessions - which was intended as a double LP but only released as an editied single LP. Cover art by Russell Mills, liner notes by John Szwed. Thanks to Bill Laswell for rescuing, and finally giving a proper mastering to match William’s original intentions, to this most seminal, groundbreaking recording, mixing jazz, rock, prog and metal years ahead of virtually everyone else!

I always said the only thing wrong with this album was it's length, it's too short!
Here is the ANSWER!!

01. Vuelta Abajo* 6:34
02. To Whom It May Concern: Us/Them 7:16
03. This Night This Song* 3:52
04. Do That** 2:56
05. Big Nick* 3:17
06. Once I Loved 5:10
07. To Whom** 2:20
08. Allah Be Praised* 6:13
09. Right On* 8:05
10. A Famous Blues 4:16
11. New Piece** 6:16

*Unedited version
**Previously unreleased

Tony Williams - drums, vocals
John McLaughlin - guitar, vocals
Larry Young - organ
Jack Bruce - bass, vocals



  2. thanks, here's spectrum road (jack bruce, john medeski,vernon reid, cindy b santana) at jazz alley 2012


  4. This looks interesting, depending on how light a hand Laswell used in the remix. Thanks for another great listen.

  5. The extra length in some of the tracks and the unreleased tracks are fantastic!

  6. Are there four "previously unreleased" tracks in this release or three? Thanks