Monday, September 7, 2015

Neal Schon - 1997 Electric World

Neal Joseph Schon (born February 27, 1954)[1] is an American rock guitarist, songwriter, and vocalist best known for his work with the bands Journey and Bad English. He is Journey's last original constant member, having participated in every album and tour to date. He was a member of the rock band Santana before forming Journey, and was also an original member of Hardline.
Schon was inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame on August 23, 2013

Electric World is a double album by Neal Schon released in 1997. The album is influenced by Carlos Santana.

An artful blend of fusion, synth and world music styles. The best fusion guitar I have ever heard. It made me realize a lot of those searing and soaring leads from early '70s Santana albums were Neal Schon's chops, not Carlos Santana's. If you like Larry Carlton, John McGloughlin, and Carlos Santana, or either of Neal Schon's previoius bands, Journey and Santana, then you will find Electric World to be an undiscovered, gleamingly- polished diamond. 2 CD, all instrumental. 

Despite its overly ambitious two-CD length, Electric World is a step forward for guitarist Neal Schon. Two years before Electric World, he returned to solo recording with the acoustic Beyond the Thunder, which showed promise, but was generally unfocused. He may still meander on Electric World, but it's a richer listen. Essentially, the record is a fusion exercise in the vein of Carlos Santana, which shouldn't be a surprise, since Schon spent much of the mid-'90s playing with the legendary guitarist. There's less meat to Schon's music than Santana's, since he can't resist slick, polished production and plays like a session musician, but there's no denying that Electric World is one of his most accomplished efforts to date. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listings

Disc: 1
1. Night Spirit
2. NYC
3. Highway 1
4. Electric World
5. Gypsy Dance
6. My Past Life
7. Memphis Voodoo
8. Breaking Waves
9. Midnight Express
10. Living Desert
11. The Dragon
Disc: 2
1. Medicine Man
2. The Emperor
3. Emerald Forest
4. One And Only
5. High Mileage
6. Scram
7. Mandolin Sky
8. Eyes On The World
9. All Our Yesterdays
10. A Prayer For Peace
 Neal Schon (guitar, mandolin)
 Alphonso Johnson (bass guitar)
 Walfredo Reyes (drums, percussion)
 Steve Smith (drums)
 Zakir Hussain (tabla, percussion)
 Mike Carabello (percussion)
 Igor Len, Kit Walker (keyboards, synthesizer, programming, drum programming). 

1 comment: