Friday, September 11, 2015

Jack DeJohnette - 1969 [1991] "The Jack DeJohnette Complex"

The DeJohnette Complex is the debut album by Jack DeJohnette featuring Bennie Maupin, Stanley Cowell, Miroslav Vitous, Eddie Gómez, and Roy Haynes recorded in 1968 and released on the Milestone label in 1969.

Drummer Jack DeJohnette's debut as a leader (which has been reissued on CD) has quite a bit of variety. The music ranges from advanced swinging to brief free improvisations and some avant-funk. DeJohnette (who doubles on melodica) is joined by Bennie Maupin (on tenor and flute), keyboardist Stanley Cowell, bassists Miroslav Vitous and Eddie Gomez, and drummer Roy Haynes. He uses six different combinations of musicians on the eight songs (five of his originals, John Coltrane's "Miles' Mode," Cowell's "Equipoise" and Vitous' "Mirror Image"). Intriguing and generally successful music.

This album, released in 1969, has all the charms of an eager first album. THE DEJOHNETTE COMPLEX also makes a solid case for Jack DeJohnette as a formidable composer and band leader. He already had impressive credentials as a drummer, having had successful stints with both Charles Lloyd and Miles Davis (after replacing Tony Williams).

The players on this album are some of the best of that time: Miroslav Vitous and Eddie Gomez on bass, Stanley Cowell on piano, Bennie Maupin on tenor saxophone, and Roy Haynes on drums. There are angular ballads and furiously cascading post-bop rave-ups. The compositions reveal DeJohnette's deep musical background and training in classical piano.

Track listing

    All compositions by Jack DeJohnette except as indicated

    "Equipoise" (Stanley Cowell) - 3:58
    "The Major General" - 6:34
    "Miles' Mode" (John Coltrane) - 6:36
    "Requiem Number 1" - 2:21
    "Mirror Image" (Miroslav Vitous) - 5:08
    "Papa, Daddy and Me" - 7:53
    "Brown, Warm and Wintry" - 5:02
    "Requiem Number 2" - 1:41

        Recorded at Dandon Productions, New York on December 26 and 27, 1968


    Jack DeJohnette: drums, melodica
    Bennie Maupin: tenor saxophone, wood flute, flute
    Stanley Cowell: electric piano, piano
    Miroslav Vitous; bass
    Eddie Gómez: bass
    Roy Haynes: drums, percussion



  2. thanks, here's bennie w/ julian preister, george colligan, buster williams and cindy b santana