Friday, September 4, 2015

Nektar - 1973 [2002] "Remember The Future"

Nektar (German for Nectar) is a 1970s English progressive rock band originally based in Germany.

Remember the Future is the fourth album from English progressive rock band Nektar. It is a concept album featuring one song divided into two parts. On the original LP, each side contained one of the two parts. It was first released in 1973 by Bacillus (Bellaphon).
The album was re-released in 1990 on LP and CD by Germany's Bellaphon. The mix used for this release was the LP mix that was rejected. In 2002 Bellaphon remastered the album from the original tapes and reissued it on CD with two bonus tracks, which were Radio Promo edits. This was the first time that the correct LP mixes were released on CD

The band formed in Hamburg, Germany in 1969. Members included Englishmen Roye Albrighton on guitars and vocals, Allan "Taff" Freeman on keyboards, Derek "Mo" Moore on bass, Ron Howden on drums, and Mick Brockett on lights and special effects. Songwriting was always considered a group effort.
The band's early albums Journey to the Centre of the Eye, A Tab in the Ocean, and ...Sounds Like This were obscure psychedelic rock albums that won the band a growing cult following, based largely on word of mouth. The last of those albums was the first Nektar album to be released in the U.S., on the small Passport Records label.

Nektar's second U.S. release, Remember the Future (1973), propelled the band briefly into mass popularity. A concept album about a blind boy who communicates with an extraterrestrial being, the music was a big leap forward for the band, with a much more melodic sound than on previous albums. It shot into the Top 20 album charts in the U.S. The follow-up album, Down to Earth (1974), was another concept album with a circus theme; it also sold well, breaking into the Top 40 album charts and included Nektar's only song to chart on the Billboard singles charts, "Astral Man". The next album, Recycled (1975), was stylistically close to bands like Gentle Giant and carried on the band's close connection with progressive rock.

Tracks Listing
1. Remember the future (part I) 16:38
a) Images of the past
b) Wheel of time
c) Remember the future
d) Confusion/
2. Remember the future (part II) 18:55
e) Returning light
f) Questions and answers
g) Tomorrow never comes
h) Path of light
i) Recognition
j) Let it grow

Total Time: 35:33


Allan "Taff" Freeman – keyboards, backing vocals
Roye Albrighton – guitars, lead vocals
Derek "Mo" Moore – bass guitar, backing vocals
Ron Howden – drums, percussion, backing vocals
Mick Brockett – lights



  2. I have just got the 2007 Japanese version, if you like that I can post it too, let me know.

  3. Muchas gracias, este álbum es sencillamente alucinante.