Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Joe Farrell - 1973 [2011] "Penny Arcade"

Joe Farrell - 1973 [2011] Penny Arcade

Joe Farrell gained his greatest fame with his popular string of CTI recordings. For this set, he performs three of his originals (none of which caught on), guitarist Joe Beck's "Penny Arcade," and a 13-minute version of Stevie Wonder's "Too High." Farrell (heard on tenor, soprano, flute and piccolo) is in excellent form, as are keyboardist Herbie Hancock, Beck, bassist Herb Bushler, drummer Steve Gadd and Don Alias on conga. As is true of his other CTI sets, this Joe Farrell effort expertly mixes together some slightly commercial elements and superior recording quality with strong solos.

Penny Arcade is a jazz album by Joe Farrell on the CTI Records label. It was recorded at the Van Gelder Studio in October 1973

Track listing

Side one

  1. "Penny Arcade" (Joe Beck) – 4:45
  2. "Too High" (Stevie Wonder) – 13:15

Side two

  1. "Hurricane Jane" (Joe Farrell) – 4:25
  2. "Cloud Cream" (Joe Farrell) – 6:15
  3. "Geo Blue" (Joe Farrell) – 7:30


1 comment:

  1. http://www31.zippyshare.com/v/b1v590Mz/file.html