Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Blue Cheer - 1968 "Outsideinside"

Blue Cheer - 1968 Outsideinside

Outsideinside is Blue Cheer's second LP, released by Philips Records in August 1968. Its tracks were recorded both outdoors and indoors - hence the title of the album. The record's tracks feature contributions from all members, along with two covers: "Satisfaction" by The Rolling Stones and "The Hunter" by Albert King. The album was re-released on CD in 1999 by Italian-based Akarma Records, and included an additional cut from the original sessions entitled "Fortunes" as a bonus track.
Outsideinside was produced by Abe "Voco" Kesh and engineered by Eddie Kramer, who had worked with The Jimi Hendrix Experience and The Rolling Stones and would later engineer releases by Led Zeppelin and Kiss, among others. The album's cover painting is by "Arab", and was designed by "Gut", legendary Hells Angel. The album photographs were taken by famed rock photographer Jim Marshall. Outsideinside was the last record to feature the original Blue Cheer line-up, as Leigh Stephens left the band after the album was released.
They had to record some songs at Pier 57 as the studio kicked them out for being too loud

The only raucous, LOUD and twisted exercise released in-between the advent of Hendrix and the ascension of The Stooges, side one of this wayward, careening and LSD-train wrecked album contains the most out of control power trio-ing EVER: easily dwarfing “Summertime Blues” as disjointed playing, shifting tempos and everything played so loud and so slow it fucking explodes all over the place like lighting a coffee can full of roman candles with a stream of flaming lighter fluid. Which is how I plan to spend every Fourth of July from now on: reveling in the glorious, howling fury that is “Outsideinside”, the second Blue Cheer album. What? I can’t hear you!! I said I just finished listening to “Outsideinside,” the second Blue Cheer album...!

Track listing:

1 Feathers From Your Tree 3:29
2 Sun Cycle 4:12
3 Just A Little Bit 3:24
4 Gypsy Ball 2:57
5 Come And Get It 3:13
6 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction 5:07
7 The Hunter 4:22
8 Magnolia Caboose Babyfinger 1:38
9 Babylon 4:22


Leigh Stephens - guitar
Dickie Peterson - bass guitar, vocals
Paul Whaley - drums
Additional personnel
Ralph Burns Kellogg - keyboards, organ, reeds


  1. http://www91.zippyshare.com/v/9612lzVn/file.html

  2. This is a great blog :3