Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Jimi Hendrix - 1975 "Crash Landing"

Jimi Hendrix - 1975 Crash Landing:

Crash Landing is a posthumous compilation album by American guitarist Jimi Hendrix.[3] It was released in March and August 1975 in the United States and the United Kingdom respectively. It was the first Hendrix album to be produced by Alan Douglas.

Before Hendrix died in 1970, he was in the final stages of preparing what he intended to be a double studio LP, which was given various titles such as 'First Rays of the New Rising Sun', 'People, Hell & Angels, and 'Strate Ahead' [sic]. Most of the tracks intended for this LP were spread out over three posthumous single LP releases: The Cry of Love (1971), Rainbow Bridge (1971), and War Heroes (1972). In the case of the last two of these LPs, a demo track, a live track, and unreleased studio tracks were used to fill out the releases. In late 1973, his International label prepared to issue an LP titled Loose Ends which contained eight tracks, six of which were generally regarded as incomplete or substandard (the only two "finished" tracks on this release were "The Stars That Play with Laughing Sam's Dice", a heavily re-mixed stereo version of the B-side which had been released in the original mono mix on the 1968 European and Japanese versions of the Smash Hits, and a cover of Bob Dylan's "The Drifter's Escape", both of which would ultimately be re-released on the South Saturn Delta CD in 1997). Loose Ends was not released in the USA by Reprise because they considered the quality of the tracks to be subpar.
Hendrix had amassed a lot of time in the studio in 1969 and 1970, resulting in a substantial amount of songs, some close to completion, that were available for potential release. After the death of Hendrix' manager in 1973, Alan Douglas was hired to evaluate hundreds of hours of remaining material that was not used on earlier posthumous albums. "Peace In Mississippi," "Somewhere," and "Stone Free" were recorded with the original Jimi Hendrix Experience line up, while the rest of the material used on Crash Landing consisted of recordings Hendrix originally made with Billy Cox on bass and either Mitch Mitchell or Buddy Miles on drums and on one occasion by Rocky Isaacs.


1 Message To Love - Drums, Voice – Buddy Miles 3:14
2 Somewhere Over The Rainbow     3:30
3 Crash Landing - Voice – Barbara Massey, Linda November, Vivian Cherry 4:14
4 Come Down Hard On Me     3:16
5 Peace In Mississippi     4:21
6 With The Power - Drums, Voice – Buddy Miles 3:28
7 Stone Free Again     3:25
8 Captain Coconut     4:06


    Bass – Billy Cox (tracks: 1, 6, 8), Bob Babbitt (tracks: 2 to 5, 6)
    Drums – Alan Schwartzberg* (tracks: 2 to 5, 7, 8)
    Guitar – Jeff Mironov (tracks: 2 to 5, 7), Jimi Hendrix
    Percussion – Jimmy Maeulen* (tracks: 1, 3, 5 to 8)
    Producer – Alan Douglas, Tony Bongiovi
    Vocals – Jimi Hendrix (tracks: All except 5, 8.)

1 comment:

  1. http://www31.zippyshare.com/v/QY1JJlgz/file.html