Saturday, July 23, 2016

Andrea Marcelli - 1990 "Silent Will"

Silent Will (Andrea Marcelli, Verve).

If you`re partial to high wattage, synthetic jazz, this is a crackling example. It features Andrea Marcelli on percussion throughout and the likes of saxophonist Wayne Shorter, guitarist Mike Stern and bassist John Patitucci on selected cuts. The result is strong on energy but short, to my ear at least, on subtlety, making it difficult to distinguish from dozens of efforts by other collections of performers.

In 1990, with the participation of Bob Berg (Tenor Sax), Mitch Forman (Piano & Midi), John Patitucci (Electric Bass), Wayne Shorter (Soprano Sax), Alex Acuna (Percussions), Mike Stern (Guitar), Allan Holdsworth (Guitar & Synthaxe) and the percussionist Andrea Marcelli, this album presents a great modern Jazz Fusion musical concept.

Although all the tracks are compositions of Andrea Marcelli, the melodies are well driven and supported by the saxes and the electric guitars... this kind of jazz reminds the groups like the Elektric Jazz Band of keyboardist Chick Corea; the good and tasty guitar phrasing of Mike Stern in his interpretations reminds me the participations of guitarist Carlos Rios with Gino Vannelli in the "Brother To Brother" album from 1978; Allan Holdsworth, still hooked on the Synthaxe at this stage of his career, shows his expertise and guitar wisdom in the tracks: "Final Project", "Love Remembered" and "Lights"


1     Exit     4:38
2     Silent Will     6:46
3     Final Project     6:35
4     Different Moments     6:15
5     Love Remembered     9:00
6     Three Small Dreams     2:37
7     Everyday     7:03
8     Lights     5:00


    Acoustic Bass – John Patitucci (tracks: 5,8)
    Clarinet – Andrea Marcelli (tracks: 5,8)
    Drums – Andrea Marcelli (tracks: 2,3,4,5,6,7,8)
    Electric Bass – John Patitucci (tracks: 1,2,3,4,6,7)
    Electric Guitar – Allan Holdsworth (tracks: 3,5), Mike Stern (tracks: 6,7)
    Grand Piano – Mitch Forman (tracks: 1,3,4,5,6,8)
    Guitar – Mike Stern (tracks: 1,2,4)
    Percussion – Alex Acuna* (tracks: 2,4,5,6,7), Andrea Marcelli (tracks: 1,4,7)
    Soprano Saxophone – Wayne Shorter (tracks: 3,5)
    SynthAxe – Allan Holdsworth (tracks: 3,5,8)
    Synthesizer – Andrea Marcelli (tracks: 2,3,4,5,6,7,8)
    Tenor Saxophone – Bob Berg (tracks: 1,2,4,7)


  1. Any link for this one? It sounds really good from the description!


  3. Yes, the line-up was impressive, with some of my favorite players/composers (Holdsworth & Shorter are in my top-10), but the sum of great individuals not always means incredible music.. I remember I was a bit disappointed when it came out (pricey imported stuff here in Italy) because of the tunes being too generic, not a memorable one.. Anyway, it's not the musicality that lacks here (impossible, with such a bunch of giants), but better compositions, and that, in my opinion, happens in every (rare) Marcelli's cd. That said, "Silent Will" shouldn't be missed by any fan of Holdsworth & Stern's guitar work.

  4. This comment has been removed by the author.