Tuesday, January 16, 2018

The Doors - 1972 [2014] "Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine"

Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine is The Doors' second compilation album (following 13) and first to be released after the death of Jim Morrison, in January 1972. The album's title is a lyric from the song "The End". The album was released on compact disc for the first time on 19 May 2014 (almost exactly a year after keyboardist Ray Manzarek died). The album was certified Gold by the RIAA. The album cover was designed by Bill Hoffman, with inside band shots by Joel Brodsky.

Two of the songs on the compilation, "Who Scared You" and "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further," were originally released as B-sides to 1969's "Wishful Sinful" and 1971's "Love Her Madly," respectively. They were not available again until "Who Scared You" appeared in The Doors: Box Set in 1997 and "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further" appeared in the 2006 Perception box set.

The version of "Who Scared You" that was released on The Doors: Box Set is an edited version, as part of the last verse is omitted. The full length song was released in 1999 on Essential Rarities and later on the 2006 remastered release of The Soft Parade as a bonus track.

The Doors now make their legendary, long out-of-print compilation Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine available for the first time as a 2-CD set. Originally released in 1972, this gold-certified double album was the first compilation to be released after Jim Morrison's death in 1971.

The 22 songs that appear on the collection provide a wide-ranging introduction to the music recorded between 1967-71 by the original quartet, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, Ray Manzarek and Jim Morrison. The band's longtime engineer Bruce Botnick remastered the music heard on this reissue, which takes its title from a lyric in "The End. "

Mixing familiar cuts and deep tracks from six studio albums, Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine touches on everything from hits like "Break On Through" and "Love Her Madly" to unexpected delights like "The Spy" from Morrison Hotel and "Running Blue" from The Soft Parade.

Adding yet another dimension to the album's track list is the inclusion of two stellar b-sides: "Who Scared You" which appeared in March 1969 as the flipside to "Wishful Sinful, " and a cover of Willie Dixon's " (You Need Meat) Don t Go No Further" which was paired with the smash "Love Her Madly" in 1971.

One of my all time favorite Doors compilations..... "The End" brings back memories. It's a look back but it was a beginning for many of us to look at the world differently. If you liked Jim Morrison & the Doors, then you will like this album.
It did not come out on CD until May 2014, it sure took a while & could have been improved with remastering but it is what it is.

Originally released in 1972, Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine was one of the earliest "best-of" Doors collections, compiling 22 tracks from the band not just limited to their many ubiquitous hits but including some more experimental tunes and a few obscure B-sides. This strange and sprawling playlist is heavy on material from L.A. Woman, and seems particularly invested in the darker, more sinister side of the band. Lesser-known songs here include "Who Scared You" and the goofy, awkward blues run "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further" sung by keyboardist Ray Manzarek. With the exception of a few pop moments, this lengthy collection sets a heavy and sometimes menacing mood, highlighting the Doors' most depraved, shamanistic moments in tracks like the brooding "The End," "Maggie McGill," and the absolutely evil groove of "When the Music's Over."

The Legendary Band Reissues Its Rare 1972 Compilation "Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine" As Two-CD Set And Digitally Following Limited Edition Record Store Day Vinyl Release.

After releasing a now sold out, limited edition vinyl pressing for Record Store Day 2014, The Doors now make their legendary, long out-of-print compilation WEIRD SCENES INSIDE THE GOLD MINE available for the first time as a 2-CD set and digitally. Originally released in 1972, this gold-certified double album was the first compilation to be released after Jim Morrison's death in 1971.

Track Listing

Disc One
1. "Break On Through"
2. "Strange Days"
3. "Shaman's Blues"
4. "Love Street"
5. "Peace Frog/Blue Sunday"
6. "The Wasp (Texas Radio & The Big Beat)"
7. "End Of The Night"
8. "Love Her Madly"
9. "Spanish Caravan"
10. "Ship Of Fools"
11. "The Spy"
12. "The End"

Disc Two
1. "Take It As It Comes"
2. "Running Blue"
3. "L.A. Woman"
4. "Five To One"
5. "Who Scared You"
6. "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further"
7. "Riders On The Storm"
8. "Maggie McGill"
9. "Horse Latitudes"
10. "When The Music's Over"


Jim Morrison – vocals
Robby Krieger – guitar
Ray Manzarek – piano, organ, marimba, bass, vocals on "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further"
John Densmore – drums

Additional Personnel:

Paul A. Rothchild – producer of all the tracks except the ones from L.A. Woman
Bruce Botnick – co-producer of the L.A. Woman tracks and engineer of all the tracks including the former mentioned
Douglass Lubahn – bass on tracks 2, 4, 9, 16, & 21
Harvey Brooks – bass on tracks 3 & 14
Jerry Scheff – bass on all the L.A. Woman tracks
Ray Neapolitan – bass on tracks 4 & 10-11
Leroy Vinnegar – acoustic bass on track 9
Paul Harris – orchestral arrangements on track 17
George Bohanon – trombone on tracks 14 & 17
Champ Webb – English horn on tracks 14 & 17
Jesse McReynolds – mandolin on tracks 14 & 17
James Buchanan – fiddle on track 14
Marc Benno – rhythm guitar on track 15
Lonnie Mack – acoustic bass on track 20


  1. http://www81.zippyshare.com/v/IjOogyUR/file.html

  2. One of the most overrated bands in history. Lord, did they suck -- especially Morrison. Lame, lame, lame.

    1. what a lame comment...


  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you,,,

  4. Os homens adoram mulheres que os apreciam.

  5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.