Tuesday, May 9, 2017

GRP All-Star Big Band - 1988 "Live In Concert"

This is a 2 CD set of a concert from Japan in 1987. The first CD is the allstar band (minus Chick Corea) and is 49 minutes long. Most of the tracks are 4 to 5 minutes long, except for the last which is 8 minutes. The second CD is Chic Corea's Elektric band, is 59 minutes. The sound quality of this concert is excellent (as you would expect from GRP).

The first three songs are by Diane Schuur. She just sings and lets her normal voice come through, such as on Love Dance. Note that Grusin, Ritenour or Scott do not appear on the Shuur songs.

On the remaining tracks on the first CD, Grusin, Ritenour and Scott take turns leading the band. Note that Scott is not on all of the tracks. The last two Grusin tracks are the best.

The second CD is all Chick Corea's Elektric band. The tracks are longer, with 2 over 10 minutes. For the most part, I think this live performance is much better than the Elektric Band studio albums. The first two tracks are nothing special, and consists of little blasts of solos. Things get more interesting as the CD moves on.

I bought this cd when it first came out. What really impressed me about this disc was the spacious sound stage. The over all sound was very defined. It had the feeling of being there live. Most CDs I have bought with in the last 17 years can't compare to quality of the depth of sound found in this recording. This was also released on laserdisc. This should be released on Blu-Ray, it would make for a great evening.

If you like dave grusin and chick corea and like me prefer more rock orientated jazz you must listen to this. With Vinnie Coluaita drumming for Grusin, and Weckl for Chick you drummers wont be dissapointed either. Includes the best version of Chicks 'Light years' I have heard with Daves kit sounding amazing (electronic tuned toms).'Rumble' is laughably good too!.All the Grusin classics like 'AM attitude' and some with Tom scott are all performed in a rocky/funky way with Ritnour adding to that feel with his trademark sound. Overall another brilliantly entertaining grp performance.

This double CD is most notable for its second half which has a strong outing from Chick Corea's Elektric Band, his pacesetting fusion band with guitarist Frank Gambale, altoist Eric Marienthal, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Dave Weckl. The first CD is of lesser interest since it contains three routine vocals by Diane Schuur and some dull R&B jams with guitarist Lee Ritenour, keyboardist Dave Grusin and saxophonist Tom Scott. This set is worth buying for Corea's contributions if seen at a budget price.  

Track Listing:

Disc: 1
  1. Deedles' Blues
  2. Love Dance
  3. Caught a Touch of Your Love
  4. Early A.M. Attitude
  5. The Sauce
  6. Water From the Moon/Earth Run
  7. Target
  8. Goodbye For Kathy
  9. An Actor's Life

Disc: 2
  1. Overture
  2. Time Track
  3. No Zone
  4. Sidewalk
  5. Rumble
  6. Full Moon
  7. Light Years


CD 1 [Vol. 1]
Barnaby Finch, Dave Grusin - Keyboards
Tim Landers - Bass
Vinnie Colaiuta - Drums
Lee Ritenour - Guitar
Tom Scott - Saxophone
Diane Schuur - Vocals

CD 2 [Vol. 2]
Chick Corea - Keyboard
John Patitucci - Bass
Dave Weckl - Drums
Frank Gambale - Guitar
Eric Marienthal - Saxophone


  1. http://www97.zippyshare.com/v/uRUvkxne/file.html

  2. Fantastic live album, thanks!

  3. ciao grazie 1.000 Luca