Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Larry Coryell - 1993 "Fallen Angel"

On Fallen Angel, Larry Coryell teams up with arranger Don Sebesky to produce a wide-ranging album full of sampled sounds and programmed tracks in an attempt to mix the old CTI sound of the '70s with the production techniques and rhythms of the '90s. "Inner City Blues" kicks things off with great promise, as Coryell jams over a pre-programmed rhythm track with background vocalists. On "(Angel on Sunset) Bumpin' on Sunset," he improvises along with a sampled Wes Montgomery, then turns Erroll Garner's classic "Misty" into a mid-tempo reggae jaunt through which he and pianist Mulgrew Miller travel lightly. The CTI connection is brought to the forefront with a remake of Deodato's "2001" hit called "Thus Spoke Z," on which the famous theme is implied but never stated. Other highlights include a funky, angular tribute called "Monk's Corner," Sebesky's attractive "I Remember Bill" and the solo "Westerly Wind." There are also two pleasant smooth jazz vocal pieces at the front of the album, the beautiful ballad, "Fallen," a duet between vocalists Klyde Jones and Jeanie Bryson, and the funky made-for-radio "Never Never," featuring saxophonist Richard Elliot and a vocal from Ms. Jones.

Fallen Angel was obviously an attempt to find Larry Coryell a place on the smooth jazz playlist, a task it didn't really accomplish. While it is not likely to appease those who bemoan the guitarist's failure to live up to his initial promise, it can be enjoyed if taken on its own terms.

Tracks Listing

1. Inner City Blues (3:31)
2. Fallen (3:45)
3. Never Never (3:34)
4. Angel On Sunset (5:40)
5. Stardust (5:55)
6. Misty (4:32)
7. I Remember Bill (3:07)
8. Pieta (5:53)
9. Thus Spoke Z (4:49)
10. Stella By Starlight (4:31)
11. Monk's Corner (6:26)
12. Westerly Wind (2:04)
13. The Moors (2:53)

Total time 56:40

Line-up / Musicians

- Larry Coryell / electric guitar

- Jeanie Bryson / vocals (2)
- Klyde Jones / vocals (1-3)
- Wes Montgomery / guitar (4)
- Mulgrew Miller / piano (5,6,9)
- Ted Rosenthal / piano (8,11)
- Jamie Laurence / synth programming
- Don Sebesky / synth (?), musical director, arrangements
- Richard Elliot / tenor saxophone (2,3)
- Chris Hunter / alto saxophone (9)


  1. http://www88.zippyshare.com/v/wFcfAsSL/file.html