Saturday, January 14, 2017

Herbie Hancock - 1998 "Mr. Funk"

The Columbia Years Compilation (1972 - 1988)

Opening with the Head Hunters version of "Watermelon Man" and closing with the electro-embracing crossover hit, "Rockit," Mr. Funk is a semi-random skip across Hancock's Columbia recordings, and it technically spans 1973-1983 (at least going by release dates), rather than the 1972-1988 range printed on its cover. Its track list looks more like a promo sampler for a round of reissues than a proper introduction to this productive and often trailblazing phase of Hancock's career. There are some very peculiar choices here. For instance, two cuts off Secrets (1976) are included, while the 1979-1982 albums Feets Don't Fail Me Now, Monster, and Lite Me Up are shut out.

Track listing:

1. Watermelon Man
2. Actual Proof
3. Hang up Your Hang Ups
4. Heartbeat
5. Kuru/Speak Like a Child
6. Cantaloupe Island
7. Swamp Rat
8. Come Running to Me
9. 4 A.M.
10. Everybody's Broke
11. Rockit


    Herbie Hancock - Piano, Composer, Choeurs, Clavier, Arranger
    Harvey Mason, Sr. - Arranger, Drums
    Baba Duru Oshun - Tabla
    Raul Rekow - Percussion, Brass
    Ernie Watts, Jim Horn - Flute, Saxophone
    Dick Hyde - Bass, Tuba, Trombone
    Bud Brishois - Trumpet
    Bill Summers - Percussion, Brass
    Don Alias, Daniel Ponce, Kenneth Nash - Percussion
    Jay DaVersa - Trumpet
    James Levi - Drums
    Bennie Maupin - Flute, Saxophone, Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor)
    Jaco Pastorius - Arranger, Bass, Leader



  2. I'm not saying it's a sentiment I personally agree with, but most of the world does not usually use the terms "productive and often trailblazing" when it comes to those late 70s/early 80s titles.

  3. Amazing, thank you, thank you, thank you...