Saturday, October 3, 2015

Adam Holzman - 1992 "In a Loud Way"

Adam Holzman (born 15 February 1958, New York City) is an American jazz keyboardist. He is the son of Elektra Records' founder, Jac Holzman.

In the early 1980s, Holzman founded the Fents with Ted Hall.[2] In 1985, he was hired by Miles Davis to play keyboards on the trumpeter's Tutu album, and stayed with him for four years, eventually becoming his musical director. He can be seen performing in the Davis concert video That's What Happened: Live in Germany 1987. In the early 1990s, he founded the band Mona Lisa Overdrive, which subsequently changed its name to Brave New World due to copyright issues.[2]
Holzman has performed as a sideman with numerous performers and bands including: Abstract Truth, the Jason Becker Tribute, the Bob Belden Ensemble, Big Horns Bee, Bob's Book Club, Tom Browne, Miles Davis, the Miles Davis Tribute, Cesare Dell’Anna, Ray DeTone, Norman Dozier, Wayne Escoffery, Charles Fambrough, Anton Fig, Robben Ford, Jane Getter, Randy Hall, the Jimi Hendrix Tribute, Robin Kenyatta, Kelvynator, Chaka Khan, Steve Louw, the Teo Macero Project, Ed Maguire, the Mahavishnu Project, Ray Manzarek, Francis M'Bappe, Jason Miles, Marcus Miller, Mark Muller, Shaun Mullins, Takanori Niida, Michel Petrucciani, Kim Plainfield, Lincoln Goines, Twana Rhodes, Wallace Roney, Section 31, Sponge, Steps Ahead, Supa Group, David Taylor, Grover Washington, Jr., Lenny White, Ray Wilson, and Steven Wilson.[3] Many of these performers he has also produced, arranged and composed for.

We were kinda knocked out when Downbeat gave this disc the full measure near its release date . I had come to equate most highly regarded jazz discs as primarily acoustic (which is by and large still true) . This IS a very electronic date from synth/keyboardist/programmer/pianist/composer Holzman. It's also pretty darn in-the-pocket and grooving. Unlike a lot of its fellow discs led by other artists, it really spreads the gifts of soloing and featuring various folks around quite generously. There's a good bit of acoustic stuff in here as well. Particularly drums, piano and different saxaphones. The songs are quite good too. This album is worth the investment. Adam's clearly a fan of good progressive rock and worked with Miles Davis starting in 1985 (spending four years in his bands) departing his (Miles) musical director in 88/89. This 1993 recording boasts a killer drummer by the name of Dennis Chambers, percussionist Mino Cinelu, Saxaphone great Kenny Garrett, bassist Darryl Jones, and guitarist Jimi Tunnell. Steve logan plays bass on this album as well. This album is funky, varied and upbeat. It's really an Nice CD.


1 No News Is Good News
2 Road Town
3 Hail to the Chief
4 Where Am I?
5 Jane Guitar
6 Pyramid
7 Whoa Nelli
8 Polish Soul Sister
9 Drop Down Daddy
10 Blow Torch Relief Map
11 Global Warming

Personnel :

Adam Holzman - keyboards, synthesizers, programming
Kenny Garrett - alto & soprano saxophones
Jimi Tunnell - guitar, vocoder-guitar
Darryl Jones, Steve Logan - bass
Dennis Chambers - drums
Mino Cinelu - percussion


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.