Sunday, June 28, 2015

Herbie Hancock - 1975 "Flood"

Herbie Hancock - 1975 Flood

Flood is the eighteenth album by Herbie Hancock. It was originally released only in Japan in 1975 as a double LP, and features the Headhunters Band, performing their hits from the Head Hunters, Thrust and Man-Child albums. It originally received a Japanese CD release & finally got a US release in 2014 on the Wounded Bird label.

Track listing

All compositions by Herbie Hancock except as indicated

"Introduction/Maiden Voyage" – 7:59
"Actual Proof" – 8:28
"Spank-A-Lee" (Mike Clark, Hancock, Paul Jackson) – 8:47
"Watermelon Man" – 5:50
"Butterfly" (Hancock, Bennie Maupin) – 12:44
"Chameleon" (Hancock, Jackson, Harvey Mason, Maupin) – 10:24
"Hang Up Your Hang Ups" (Hancock, Jackson, Melvin "Wah-Wah" Ragin) – 19:54


Herbie Hancock – acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes, clavinet, ARP Odyssey, ARP Soloist, ARP String Ensemble
Bennie Maupin – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, saxello, bass clarinet, flute, percussion
Dewayne "Blackbyrd" McKnight – guitar
Paul Jackson – Fender bass
Mike Clark – drum set
Bill Summers – congas, percussion