Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Toots Thielemans - 1993 "The Brasil Project" Vol. 2

Guitarist, harmonica player, and whistler Toots Thielemans' followup to the critically acclaimed Brasil Project doesn't stray far from its predecessor's path. There are 13 nice Afro-Latin selections with Thielemans backing such top Brazilian vocalists as Milton Nascimento, Gilberto Gil, Ivan Lins, Caetano Veloso, and Dori Caymmi, among others, and guitarists Oscar Castro-Nieves and Lee Ritenour assisting Thielemans with delicate shadings and accompaniment.

This cd set, this being the first of 2, is considered by many the high point of Toot's capabilities. Great CD.

Talk about Toots Thielmans is talk of a music legend. Excellent performer of the harmonica and talented guitarist (whisteling and touching at the same time at the last theme ... cool!!! ), gives us his musical experience in the wonderful world of brazilian music along with an excellent musical luminaries as Eliane Elias, Gilberto Gil, Ivan Lins, Milton Nascimento, Caetano Veloso, Luis Bonfa, Oscar Castro-Neves , Dory Caymi, Djavan, i.e. the best of the current Brazilian music. Enjoy this beautiful cd.

Both CD's are magnificent ! I've worn them both out and have to purchase
another set. My best friends saw Toots in NYC at his 80th birthday. The show was unbelieveable ! So sorry I wasn't there ! I love Toots and have since I was a teenager.

All the songs are perfect for a relax moment after a long day at work. Travessia is my favorite one and it is like a promise of a deep journey into some green eyes of a loved one. This album is different from Brasil Project Vol 1. This one is deeper and really smooth.

This albun, differently from all other Toot's, it's just great! The songs "Papel Marche" and "Travessia" take you to a journey. they lift up your spirit. Try listening the albun in a quiet dark environment(or in your car), sweping a Sambuca and smoking a Cuban cigar. Well, my friend... why would you need to be a millionare? This is it! Pure good times.

Track listing:

01 Cê 5:27
02 Chôro Bandido 3:33
03 Retrato Em Branco E Preto 3:15
04 Obsession 3:30
05 Travessia 3:06
06 Flora 4:21
07 Unconditional Love 5:16
08 Papel Maché 2:58
09 O Futebol 3:32
10 Linda (Você É Linda) 3:47
11 Samba De Uma Nota Só 3:19
12 Oceano 5:16
13 Samba De Orfeu 3:38


Harmonica – Toots Thielemans
Bass – Brian Bromberg (tracks: 1, 4, 7, 13), Jamil Joanes (tracks: 5, 6), Marc Johnson (2) (tracks: 2, 3, 11), Nico Assumpção (tracks: 8)
Cello – Eugene Friesen (tracks: 2)
Drums – Steve Schaeffer (tracks: 3, 4, 9, 11), Teo Lima (tracks: 5, 6)
Electric Guitar – Ricardo Silveira (tracks: 9)
French Horn – John Clark (2) (tracks: 11)
Guitar – Caetano Veloso (tracks: 10), Djavan (tracks: 12), Dori Caymmi (2) (tracks: 4), Gilberto Gil (tracks: 6), João Bosco (tracks: 8), Oscar Castro-Neves (tracks: 1 to 5, 8, 9, 11, 13)
Guitar [Solo Guitar] – Lee Ritenour (tracks: 7), Luiz Bonfá (tracks: 13)
Horn [Hornette] – John Clark (2) (tracks: 3)
Keyboards – Gilson Peranzzetta (tracks: 5, 6, 13), Ivan Lins (tracks: 1), Mike Lang (tracks: 2, 4, 13)
Percussion – Bira Hawal* (tracks: 13), Cassio Duarte (tracks: 6 to 9, 13), Paulinho Da Costa (tracks: 4), Zero (José Roberto) (tracks: 13)
Piano – Dave Grusin (tracks: 12), Eliane Elias (tracks: 3, 11)
Rhythm Guitar – Oscar Castro-Neves (tracks: 7)
Trumpet – Mark Isham (tracks: 7)
Vocals – Caetano Veloso (tracks: 10), Chico Buarque (tracks: 9), Djavan (tracks: 12), Dori Caymmi (2) (tracks: 4), Edu Lobo (tracks: 2), Gilberto Gil (tracks: 6), Ivan Lins (tracks: 1), João Bosco (tracks: 8), Milton Nascimento (tracks: 5)