Monday, May 7, 2018

Brian Bromberg - 1989 "Magic Rain"

This CD is an example of high-quality fusion. Not only are the electronics state-of-the-art for 1989 and the musicianship impeccable but several of the original melodies are memorable, there are lots of funky grooves and the solos are fiery. Bromberg, a virtuoso player on both electric and acoustic basses (including the piccolo bass) often sounds a bit like a guitarist; few can match his technique as he shows on his two unaccompanied solos "Just The Bass" and "Interlude." Keyboardist Jeff Lorber sounds more creative during his three guest spots here than he does on his own dates and there are also some worthwhile solos from tenor-saxophonist Ernie Watts. This CD from the defunct Intima label will be hard to find but fans of electric jazz will consider it worth the search.

Track listing:

1 Magic Rain
2 Isn't It Beautiful
3 10 West
4 Rio d'
5 Just the Bass
6 Little Steven
7 Blues for Fabian
8 L.A., Land of the Barking Car
9 Interlude
10 Melrose Avenue


Brian Bromberg - (fretted bass, piccolo bass, panning string fretted bass, panning string piccolo bass, piccolo bass synthesizer);
Bill Cantos - (vocals);
Brandon Fields - (alto saxophone);
Ernie Watts, Doug Webb - (tenor saxophone);
Rob Mullins - (piano);
Marc Hugenberger - (keyboards, percussion, programming, keyboard programming);
Jeff Lorber - (keyboards, programming);
Joel Taylor - (drums);
Steve Reid - (percussion)



  2. Thank you very much. I own this album but it is buried somewhere in myriads of black cases.