Friday, August 19, 2016

April Wine - 1999 [1982] "King Biscuit"

April Wine is a Canadian rock band formed in 1969. Originally based in Halifax, Nova Scotia, the band enjoyed international success in the 1970s and 1980s, releasing more than 20 albums since 1971.

King Biscuit Flower Hour Presents In Concert album for sale by April Wine was released Feb 16, 1999 on the King Biscuit Flower label. Recorded live in Toronto, Canada on November 21, 1982. King Biscuit Flower Hour Presents In Concert CD music contains a single disc with 15 songs. 

Greatest Hits Live is a live album by the Canadian rock band April Wine, released in 1997. Also known as King Biscuit Flower Hour, but this is the label it was released under.

A must have for Hard Core April Winers but not recommended as intro to April Wine. Sound: good, at times acceptable. Track listing: Similar to a AW live show, no suprises here, except Oowatanite is sung by Myles Goodwyn! Artwork: Cool, not much to do with AW, except the group on stage picture. Whats good:It's just good to have some "new" April Wine product,since their 1992 reunion (6+yrs)we have seen 2 releases.I guess we Winers will have to deal with it. Whats bad:Liner notes are a real insult to April Wine and their fans. 5of7 track credits are wrong, Goodwyn is spelled Goodwin, Jerry Mercer in refered to as Johnny Mercer.Sound on bonus track, You Could of Been a Lady,is borderline acceptable. Track was recorded in 1985, during the "Walking Through Fire" years which included only 2 original band members. (Myles Goodwyn & Brian Greenway).  

April Wine began in late 1969 in Waverley, Nova Scotia (a suburb of Halifax). The band's name was chosen simply because members thought the two words sounded good together. The original members were brothers David Henman on guitar and Ritchie Henman on drums. Their cousin Jim Henman joined in on bass and Myles Goodwyn completed the sound on lead vocals and guitar. In early 1970 the band relocated to Montreal. Shortly after arriving in their new home the band was signed by Aquarius Records. They recorded and released their debut album April Wine in September 1971. The album spawned their first single, "Fast Train", which received fairly steady airplay on radio stations across Canada and established Myles Goodwyn as the band's main songwriter. The single's success led the band's label to ask for a second album amid the first of many lineup changes: Jim Henman left the band in the fall of 1971 and was replaced by Jim Clench.

Under the guidance of producer Ralph Murphy April Wine recorded their second album, titled On Record. The first single from the album was a cover version of the song "You Could Have Been a Lady", originally by the band Hot Chocolate. The record was a commercial success, hitting number 5 on the Canadian charts, as well as cracking the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States where it stayed for 11 weeks, peaking at No. 32. Immediately following that triumph, April Wine released a second single from On Record, titled "Bad Side of the Moon." This song, written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, also got much airplay on Canadian radio stations and was a minor hit in the U.S. as well. Both tracks remain staples on classic rock radio stations in Canada. On Record was certified Gold in Canada and the band, along with Murphy, returned to the studio to exploit the popularity generated by their second release.
During the recording of the band's third album, still another line-up change occurred. Before the album's completion, brothers David and Ritchie Henman resigned, leaving Myles Goodwyn as the only remaining original member. Goodwyn and Clench decided to continue the band and began auditions for replacement musicians. Eventually drummer Jerry Mercer (formerly of the Canadian band Mashmakhan) and guitarist Gary Moffet were chosen, and together they finished recording the band's third album entitled Electric Jewels, which contained songs such as "Weeping Widow," "Just Like That" and "Lady Run, Lady Hide." These songs would remain in April Wine's concert set lists for many years. In support of this album, the band embarked on the Electric Adventure Tour which featured a massive lighting and pyrotechnic show.

The band's fourth release, Stand Back, went double platinum in Canada, riding on the success of the singles "Tonight Is A Wonderful Time To Fall In Love" and "I Wouldn't Want To Lose Your Love". The song "Oowatanite" became a concert favourite and stands as one of the most popular songs the band has ever recorded. Following the supporting tour for Stand Back, the roster of members was again shaken up. This time, longtime member Jim Clench departed and was replaced by Steve Lang. Clench would stay active in music, doing stints in the rock bands Bachman–Turner Overdrive and Loverboy.

In mid-1977, April Wine was booked to play a charity concert at the famed El Mocambo Club in Toronto, Ontario. Co-headliner on the bill was a band called "The Cockroaches," who turned out to be The Rolling Stones. The pseudonym was a poorly kept secret and huge crowds turned out for the event. April Wine's performance was captured and released as the album Live at the El Mocambo. The band got its first chance at touring the U.S. following the El Mocambo gig, first opening for The Rolling Stones, then for various popular headliners, including Styx and fellow Canadian band Rush

Track listing:

01. Anything You Want, You Got It
02. Future Tense
03. Crash And Burn
04. Before The Dawn
05. Waiting On A Miracle
06. Enough Is Enough
07. If You See Kay
08. Just Between You And Me
09. Sign Of The Gypsy Queen
10. 21st Century Schizoid Man
11. I Like To Rock
12. Roller
13. Oowatanite
14. All Over Town
15. You Could Have Been A Lady


Miles Goodwyn (vocals, guitar);
Gary Moffet, Brian Greenway (guitar);
Steve Lang (bass);
Johnny Mercer (drums)



  2. Thanks for this rockin' live April Wine set!
    Johnny Mercer might be my fave all-time songwriter -- loved his work back in the '40s.
    Wine's drummer is Jerry Mercer;)
    Neat the way we can enjoy all kinds of music, isn't it?
    Thank you again for sharing so much moving and fascinating music on your blog!

    All the BEST:)