Thursday, October 3, 2019

California Guitar Trio - 1998 "Pathways"

"Pathways" is the California Guitar Trio's 1998 release and bestselling album to date, featuring original compositions and amazing arrangements of the works of Beethoven. InsideOut, who have released numerous CGT recordings, write, "The California Guitar Trio consists of three revered musicians who aren't actually natives of the "Golden State." Actually, two of the members aren't even from the United States! Bert Lams is from Brussels, Belgium; Hideyo Moriya is a native of Tokyo, Japan; and Paul Richards hails from Salt Lake City, Utah. The technical wizardry of the California Guitar Trio is breathtaking, and so is the wide range of instrumental music the group performs -- everything from unique originals to dazzling, cleverly arranged reinterpretations of classical, jazz and surf rock pieces. Elements of blues and country are blended into the California Guitar Trio's style too. Their diversity is unparalleled. There's simply nothing the California Guitar Trio can't do musically."

The California Guitar Trio was formed by Bert Lams, Hideyo Moriya and Paul Richards. All three perform acoustic guitar, on this CD, in unedited live studio performances. This 1998 recording is their third work together as a trio, after the 1995 disc "Invitation" and 1993's "Yamanashi Blues".
Before their formation as a trio, Bert, Hideyo and Paul had previously appeared in various configurations of The League of Crafty Guitarists and had also served as three of the five members of the Robert Fripp String Quintet.
On "Pathways", a significant level of performance maturity is clearly in evidence. Thankfully, such maturity has been assigned to a repertoire consisting of classical arrangements along with original, intelligent progressive compositions that match well to their classical sensibility.
In addition to the guitar trio configuration, a number of tracks include saxophone played by Bill Janssen and Roger Lambson. The touch tapped Warr Guitar, performed by Trey Gunn, is included on a few of the tracks as well.
"Pathways" will serve as a beautiful introduction to the work of the California Guitar Trio. It showcases some of the finest examples of their warmly sensitive musical expression.

The 3rd album from the California Guitar Trio. Fresh from recent tours with King Crimson and John McLaughlin they have recorded a heady brew of classics and contemporary material. Everything from Beethoven's 5th symphony, the theme tunes to Pulp Fiction, thought to newly-commissioned avant-grade pieces, all performed on 3 guitars. Track highlights includes: "Arroyo," "Leap," "Adagio for Strings (Barber)," "Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven)," and more!

 Track listing:

01     Allegro Con Brio, Symphony No. 5     5:26
02     Arroyo     3:39
03     Pathways     4:29
04     Leap     2:53
05     Adagio Opus11     4:00
06     Great Divide     2:32
07     Scramble     2:01
08     Classical Gas     2:55
09     Kaleidoscope     0:55
10     Ananda     2:49
11     Adagio Sostenuto, Moonlight Sonata     2:42
12     Presto Agitato, Moonlight Sonata     4:45
13     Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring     2:40
14     Misirlou     1:55


Hideyo Moriya     Guitar, Production
Bert Lams     Guitar, Production, Mixing
Paul Richards     Guitar, Production
Bill Janssen     Saxophone (tracks: 3, 7, 9, 10, 13)
Trey Gunn     Warr Guitar (tracks: 3, 7, 9, 10, 13)
Roger Lambson     Saxophone, Engineering (tracks: 9, 13)