Sunday, January 6, 2019

Alain Caron Le Band - 1997 "Play"

The album features seven original tunes and three reworkings or arrangements, and is his third recording since embarking on his solo project LE BAND (apart from UZEB). It is a testament to both his talents as a composer and his daring feats of world-reknowned bass playing. (He has consistently been rated one of the top ten bassists in the world by the prestigious American magazine BASS PLAYER)

LE BAND has changed somewhat since its previous outing: the core group now consists of: Otmaro Ruiz (California/Venezuela) on keyboards, and stalwart buddy Paul Brochu on drums. To this basic trio is added on various invited guests such as Toronto tenor saxophonist Phil Dwyer, local heros François d'Amours on alto sax and Luc Boivin on percussion, as well as a full horn section. All of it came together beautifully at Montreal's Studio Tempo under Alain's skilled direction.

For this recording, Alain wished to underline the playful aspects of his music: the serious "playing" of the music, as well as the more fun "interactive" aspects: the improvisation, the trading of solos, and the pure joy of playing together. Thus, the title, PLAY.

During the last two years, Alain has worked mainly outside of Québec, performing and giving masterclasses. He is well-known for his virtuosity and drive, and has often been feted with honors and prizes: here in Montreal he was given his own invitational series during the 1996 edition of the International Jazz Festival - five nights, carte blanche - at the Monument National. Canada's JAZZ REPORT Magazine has named Alain, for five consecutive years now, top electric bassist in the country. great grooves!! great players and very original.

Play is the third album by Alain Caron Le Band and was released in 1997. The album contains seven original songs by Alain Caron and two interpretations: “Trouble” by Leni Stern, “Impressions” by John Coltrane.

“Play” is a valuable record of Alain Caron talent, both as a bassist and composer superfine.

“Play” oscillates between jazz-soul ( “Pac Man” and “D-Code”), the fusion ( “In & Out” or “B 12”) and sentimental ( “Après la pluie” and “Ton Jardin”) and Alain Caron wanted to emphasize the fun aspect of his music: improvisation, the sheer joy of playing with others and exchanging solos … from here in fact the title of the album, “Play”!

In this collection are some of the best known and appreciated pieces of Alain Caron, among which is “D-Code” which has become a major event for every concert.

Accompany Alain Caron on this record extraordinary musicians such as Paul Brochu on drums, and Otmar Ruiz  on piano.

Alain Caron plays divinely and ranges in various genres, passing easily from the instrument to the fretted and fretless leaving the listener astonished and amazed.

Track listing:

01. P.A.C. Man (4:20)
02. In & Out (6:20)
03. D-CODE (5:05)
04. Ton Jardin (5:50)
05. Pole Position (4:29)
06. Grand Café (8:18)
07. Impressions (7:53)
08. Après la pluie... (7:07)
09. B 12 (7:10)
10. Trouble (6:14)

Total Time: 62:52


Bass [Fretted and fretless], Producer, Mixed By, Photography [Studio pictures] – Alain Caron
Alto Saxophone – François D'Amours* (tracks: 1, 3, 5)
Drums – Paul Brochu
Keyboards, Piano [Acoustic piano], Organ – Otmaro Ruiz
Leader [Horn section leader] – François D'Amours* (tracks: 1, 5)
Percussion – Luc Boivin (tracks: 6)
Tenor Saxophone – André Leroux (tracks: 1, 5), Phil Dwyer (tracks: 2, 7, 9)
Trumpet – Benoît Glazer (tracks: 1, 5), Jocelyn Turcotte (tracks: 1)